Monday, May 5, 2014

On the Threshold of Another Diesel Power Smackdown

Editor Sean Holman, captain of the DPC
The weather is perfect, the grass is green, the ten competing teams are all checked in and things are on the ready here at the Diesel Power Challenge in Denver.

At five p.m. Monday the Diesel Power Challenge staff and all the assembled sponsors and teams met here at the Marriott Hotel in Golden for an initial debriefing with regards to the week ahead. Diesel Power editor Sean Holman spelled out the rules and expectations for the week. Having broken his arm recently he was well aware of how strange the contraption appeared to others that held his limb rigid. He said it was a steampunk weapon attached to his arm and that it shot laser beams when he held it up. We almost believed him.

This year's trophies were displayed on a table at the front, as if the teams needed any more motivation than simply being named champion. Nevertheless, AMSOIL is also sweetening the victory by awarding the winner with a $500 shopping spree and $1500 toward a performance upgrade for next year's competition. (Yes, the winner gets the opportunity to return and defend his title.)

The teams all seem prepared to do battle the Diesel Power way.

This is the Tenth hosting of the Diesel Power Challenge. Here is the list of this year’s competition.

The Competition

Wes Beech is back and ready to rumble.
Wesley Beech - 2008 Ford F-250, Reigning '13 DPC Champion; Akron, Ohio

Dan Manary - 2012 Ford F350; Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada

Ryan Anderson - 2008 Ford F-250; Farmington Hills, Michigan

Dan Howard - 1995 Ford F-350; North Planes, Oregon

Lavon Miller - 2004 Ram 3500; Plain City, Ohio

Matt Kauffman - 2006 Dodge Ram 3500; Plain City, Ohio

Danick St. Pierre - 2008 Ram 2500; Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Shilo Ellingford - 2006 Chevy 2500

Cory Chomos - 2011 Chevy 2500; Drumheller, Alberta, Canada

Troy Sankey - 2006 Chevy 2500; Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Follow along in social media: #DPC14

No comments: